Only 2 Days Left to Register for
35th World Zionist Congress Elections

Register today.
Deadline: February 15, 2006.

Brit Tzedek activists are running for places on the US delegation, as members of the ARZA, Green Zionist Alliance, Hatikvah Coalition, Jewish Reconstructionist Federation/Reconstructionist, Likud, and Mercaz slates.

The Congress elections are a barometer for Jewish public opinion worldwide. The US delegation to the World Zionist Congress is the only democratic body with the potential to encompass nearly the full spectrum of American Zionism. The election results impact the relative strength of Zionist organizations within the American Jewish community, which in turn affects Israel's future via the distribution of funds raised in the Diaspora.

One of the most significant issues at stake in these elections is the future of the West Bank settlements. The Hatikvah Coalition has pledged to directly challenge the WZO's practice of channeling funds raised primarily in the Diaspora to the settlements beyond the Green Line. This dispersal of funds occurs outside official Israeli government channels, though seemingly with the government's tacit consent, and it has persisted despite public commitments made by Israel to freeze settlement expansion. Furthermore, the Sasson report on the status of illegal settlements found that the WZO serves as a conduit for the creation of illegal settlement outposts and in some cases, it has knowingly built these outposts on Arab land.

You can make your voice heard today in support of a negotiated, resolution to the conflict, by registering to vote today at here.

The registration fee is $7 (only $5 for students), and ballots will be mailed to you via email or post. Ballots must be received by February 28, 2006.

Read more about the platforms of each party running here.


Debra Goldstein, Rabbi Roberto Graetz, and Rabbi Aaron Petuchowski

Green Zionist Alliance

Jeff Albert, Adam Berman, Rabbi Fred Scherlinder Dobb, Noam Dolgin, Susannah Heschel, Danielle Luttenberg, Daniel Orenstein, Richard Schwartz, Ariana Silberman, and Rabbi Arthur Waskow

Hatikvah Coalition

Miriam Felton-Dansky, Hasia Diner, Dan Fleshler, Judith Gelman, Professor Leonard Grob, Michele Levy, Rabbi Mordechai Liebling, Steve Masters, Ruth Messinger, Benjamin Murane, Jason Pollens, Lilly Rivlin, Josh Rosenthal Rabbi Gerald Serotta, Jonathan Sulman, and Benjamin Wolff

Jewish Reconstructionist Federation/Reconstructionist

 Daniel Cedarbaum,Val Kaplan, Sam Kelman, and Rabbi Amy Small


Salomon Louis Vaz Dias


Irma F. Megiddo

[return to top]

Brit Tzedek v'Shalom, The Jewish Alliance for Justice and Peace
11 E. Adams Street, Suite 707
Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: (312) 341-1205
Fax: (312) 341-1206

Become a member: Help build our grassroots base of constituents.

Share this message: Tell others about Brit Tzedek v'Shalom.

Receive regular updates: Get weekly messages from Brit Tzedek v'Shalom.

More information: Click to see our website.

Subscribe to the Daily Digest: Receive daily news updates about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. 

This message was sent to . Visit your subscription management page to modify your email communication preferences or update your personal profile. Click here (or reply via email with "remove" in the subject line) to remove yourself from ALL email lists maintained by Brit Tzedek v'Shalom.